Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 5th, 2010

In the 1970’s, Mary began working with Lee Epting, who was the food and beverage director at the Ramada Inn in Athens. Mary witnessed firsthand the founding of Lee Epting Catering and its eventual transformation into Epting Events. Mary can remember when she had to search for things to keep her busy during the work day – it is safe to say those days are long gone! She continues to plan spectacular events with UGA, local clubs and organizations, and many brides and grooms. Mary’s years of experience allow her to create unique events that capture each client’s individuality.

How long have you been a event planner?
I began with Lee in 1978

What did you do before you became a wedding and event planner?
I was a cashier at the Ramada Inn, but started working with Lee shortly after.

If you weren’t a wedding planner, what would you be?
A stay at home wife!

What do you do when you aren’t working?
I like to work in the yard, look through junk shops, and browse real estate

What are your favorite flowers?
Ranunculus and hydrangeas

What do you enjoy about working at Epting?
The wonderful people

Favorite restaurants in Athens?
I love Harry Bissett’s and Last Resort

Favorite Foods
Pizza

What is your dream vacation spot?
Kauai in Hawaii…I went with my husband for a wedding once and I would love to go back there someday

What was your wedding like?
I didn’t get married until I was 37. We had it at the Taylor Grady House, here in Athens, with about 150 of our friends and family. And of course Lee catered!

If you were an animal what would you be? Why?
A ca because they can be by themselves, they are clean, don’t have to be pampered, are quiet, and don’t bother anyone

What was your favorite fad growing up?
Grew up in 60’s…like the groovy psycadellic fad

Who do you admire as a famous person?
Oprah because she is so giving.

Did you have any nicknames?
I do, but none I can share 😉

What was your first job?
I worked at a gift shop that sold country pine furniture

What’s the farthest from home you’ve ever been?
Pettersburg, Russia. I lived for there for 2 years. Living there really makes you appreciate all that we have in the US.

Do you have any phobias?
Snakes! I can’t event look at pictures of them! When I was little, my neighbors would chase me with their pet snake.

If you were on a desert island, what two items would you bring?
My husband & chocolate…not necessarily in that order 😉

Photo by Jason Thrasher

Read Full Post »