Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 12th, 2010

Katie has recently celebrated her 3 year anniversary with Epting Events. Coming from a science background, she uses her meticulous, logical thinking combined with her creative, whimsical side for the best of both worlds when planning her events. Katie was a bride herself, not too long ago, so she knows all about the pressures that come along with wedding planning. She wants to make sure that the process is stress-free and fun for her clients. When she is not busy orchestrating events, she enjoys lazy Sunday afternoons with her 2 boxers, spoiling her niece and rollerskating. She is a lover of her iphone, UNC basketball, the musical stylings of Journey, and the tv show, Lost.

What did you do before you became an Event Planner?

I was a lab tech who conducted stem cell research in a cancer research lab.

If you could plan anyone’s wedding in the world, whose would it be?

Definitely Oprah – impeccable taste, a fantastic guest list and an unlimited budget would make for an unbelievable event!

Where do you get your inspiration?

Window Shopping! They are great references for composition, colors and overall design. Anthropologie is my favorite. The last time I was there, they had a chandelier made out of green beer bottles. Now I am dying to make one for one of our events!

If you weren’t an Event Planner, what would you be?

I fully intend to open a dog rescue center when I retire.

What do you do when you aren’t working?

fake answer: reading, going to movies, hanging out with friends

real answer: thinking about work!

How did you find yourself at Epting?

It was a very happy accident. My husband and I moved down from North Carolina, when he started grad school at UGA. We had just gotten married and I had such a great time planning my own wedding that I thought I might try a new career (I wasn’t very happy in a lab setting). Epting Events was hiring a receptionist, so I came and interviewed and got the job in April of 2007. By August, I was taking my own parties 🙂

Awards, most interesting honor, important accomplishment/milestones?

I received the “Most Improved” and “Most Team Spirit” Awards in 2007 from the Classic City Rollergirls.

What are your favorite flowers?

Anything that is lush, romantic and girly. Ranunculus, Peonies, Gardenias, Phaleonopsis Orchids, Dahlias…I could go on and on.

You would be surprised to know…

that I am actually a very shy person.

What do you enjoy about working at Epting?

I love that every day is always different, I’m constantly being challenged, I get to travel all across the southeast, I learn something new everyday and I get to work with creative and interesting people.

Favorite magazines?

Lucky, In Style, Real Simple, Martha Stewart Weddings, Southern Weddings

Favorite book?

It’s a tie between Rose Madder by Stephen King OR The Beast by Peter Benchley

Favorite restaurant in Athens?

Clocked

Favorite foods?

A rainbow of starch! Mac & Cheese, Mashed Potatoes and Red Lobster Cheddar Biscuits

What is your dream vacation spot?

I would love to stay in those little sand huts off the coast of Greece.

What was your wedding like?

It was definitely one of the best days of my life. I married a wonderful man and enjoyed the summer afternoon surrounded by friends and family. I wore a simple ivory strapless gown with a full skirt. My seamstress added fabric flowers at the waist and the top of the bustle and adorned them with pink swarovski crystals. My bouquet was a tight bundle of different pink flowers with lots of texture; peonies, dahlias, nerine lillies, cockscomb and roses. It was one of my favorite things about the day. After the ceremony, we were whisked away in a baby blue 1967 Mustang Convertible and spent some time just riding around, waving to the city-goers. We had the reception on the top floor of a building that overlooked the whole city of Raleigh. Our focal point was a topsy turvy pink wedding cake, my husband’s contribution to the night 🙂 We dined on salmon and filet, then danced the night away. Now I get to live vicariously through my brides and plan weddings over and over again!

What was your favorite fad growing up?

Banana clips and hypercolor t-shirts!

Who do you admire?

I admire anyone that is articulate, in both the diction of their voice and the ability to say whatever is on their mind.

What are the goals you are still working toward?

I would love to develop a great wedding iphone app and retire early!

What celebrity would you most want to meet?

Bruce Willis 🙂

Read Full Post »