Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 9th, 2010

Wendy has been with Epting Events since 2006 as an Event Coordinator and is now the Sales Manager. Wendy has been immersed in the food service industry for nearly 16 years, in a number of different capacities. She credits her passion for exceeding client expectations to her days spent working at Walt Disney World. A midwestern girl at heart, Wendy is inspired by the charm and tradition of southern weddings, especially backyard, outdoor weddings where nature is the focus.

If you could plan anyone’s wedding in the world, whose would it be?

My sister, Jenny. She had an engagement that didn’t work out, so now she wants a sweet, small, DIY backyard wedding that I’m very excited to help her plan sometime in the future.

If you weren’t a wedding planner, what would you be?

A side line college football reporter

What do you do when you aren’t working?

Spend time with my husband and two labs. I love sports and music and being outdoors. We would camp every weekend if we could!

How did you find yourself at Epting?

I had left my position as the catering director for a business club in Atlanta. I found myself with three different job offers, including Epting Events. I was intrigued by the catering industry and excited by the creative folks I met in my interviews…and the rest is history!

Awards, most interesting honor, important accomplishment/milestones?

I think it’s a major accomplishment that I have driven back and forth from Snellville to Athens, 4 days a week for four years!

What are your favorite flowers?

Gerber Daisies…I love the bright cheerful colors and their whimsical feel.

You would be surprised to know…

I opted out of planning my own wedding and eloped to Antigua!

I am committed to…

Making sure every bride who calls Epting Events knows that we are glad she did and we are as excited about their wedding as they are.

What do you enjoy about working at Epting?

I love that it is family owned and operated and that everyone has a voice on our team. We work lots of long hours, so it is great to be a part of team where your opinion matters.

Favorite non-wedding blogs/websites?

http://www.BoiledSports.com (for my sports junkie side);
http://www.pioneerwoman.com (features a Mom who shares amazing recipes and her amazing life on a ranch)

Favorite magazine?

Real Simple

Favorite restaurant in Atlanta?

Kevin Rathbun’s Steakhouse

What was your wedding like?

My husband and I eloped, so it was just the two of us. We got married on a Thursday afternoon on a beach in Antigua. It had rained for 24 hours straight, but a few hours before the wedding the sun appeared and we had nothing but blue skies! We hadn’t met our officiant prior to the ceremony, but we were pleasantly surprised that it felt as though she had written our ceremony specifically for us.

My favorite part of the day happened while with our photographer. As we were walking through the resort, we turned a corner and saw it—A huge fountain! My husband and I looked at each other and immediately jumped in while the photographer snapped away. They are by far my favorite pictures—the expression on my husband’s face is priceless.

The day ended with a romantic candlelit dinner for two under a thatched cabana along the sand!

After we returned home, there was a casual reception at a Brew Pub in Indiana where our guests enjoyed Corn Hole, Darts, Pool & Foosball while drinking great micro brewed beer. My family had been very skeptical of our non-traditional reception. My Dad fully expected me to wear my flowy, organza wedding dress in the middle of winter. I went with my gut and the result was amazing. We piped in our own music and our guests quickly got into the spirit and every game was in use. It was a great way for our families to get to know each other and my Dad later told me I was right all along…which was the best part!

What was your favorite fad growing up?

Leg warmers & leggings. I had every color in the rainbow.

Who do you admire most?

Maya Angelou – I am inspired by her wisdom and use of words

Did you have any nicknames?

Traz. My maiden name was Trzaskus (pronounced Traskus) and no one could ever say it so the vast majority of my friends to this day just call me Traz. In grade school, the other kids called me Wendy Trashcan and it made me cry.

What celebrity would you most want to meet?

Dave Matthews. His music moves me and I would love to kick back and have coffee with him just once.

What’s the farthest from home you’ve ever been?

Spain

What’s you worst wedding nightmare?

I have a recurring nightmare that I have gotten the date wrong for someone’s wedding.

Read Full Post »